Ride Across Britain

SO, I guess I’ve been doing this blog just about long enough that it won’t be awkward if I ask you for some money. I mean, obviously it’s a bit embarrassing, and you know, I’m sorry to pester you and that, but I feel it is worth a shot. I am going to be raising money for the British Paralympic Association, who support disability sport in the United Kingdom. I am a fairly active person – I climb, cycle and run – and I generally exercise every day, so sport is pretty important to me, and I support anything that tries to get more people involved in it – I also volunteer with Work Out For Sport, providing administrative advice to amateur sports clubs.

Anyway, I will be cycling over Mount Everest this September. Except, obviously I won’t be, but I am riding from Lands End to John O’Groats, taking the hilliest route feasible (see the picture below), covering about 110 miles a day for nine days, and ascending almost two times the height of everest.

Each day I will set off at about 7AM and cycle for 6-8 hours, burning off around 5000 calories each day, which is roughly equivalent to 52 slices of garlic bread, 17 McDonald’s cheeseburgers, or an entire large birthday cake. After my hard day’s cycling, I will eat 52 slices of garlic bread or an entire large birthday cake (I’m vegetarian, so the cheeseburgers aren’t an option) then sleep in a lonely tend until it is time to ride again. I will probably also shower.

I will be doing this in aid of the British Paralympic Association, and I need donations to make this worthwhile. My target is £800. This is less than £1 per mile. Think of how much suffering you get in return for your donation! For just £10 you can sponsor me twelve miles, equivalent to 5.67 slices of garlic bread.

Admittedly that is quite a high price for garlic bread. But it is for a good cause!

Click here to donate.

Ride Across Britain

I am an amateur novelist, an aspiring tax advisor, a cycle commuter, and a graduate of philosophy, politics and law

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Shameless self-promotion

Leave a Reply

